Day 1: A-OK

Image

Volunteering

Day 1: A-OK
Volunteering.
Tuesday, Nov 5

I volunteer at the hospital down the street every Tuesday from 12-3. I could go on and on about how much I love the novelty of gaining perspective on life and life’s little ‘problems’ each and every week – but this holiday season… the mission is completing 50 days of A-OKs: aka- Acts of Kindness.
Lucky for me, Tuesdays will inevitably be my gold-star A-OK days because I basically spend 3 hours helping strangers in ways I can’t even begin to list in full. THAT makes me feel good. Really good. So, in short – today’s chosen act of kindness was not only directing but accompanying an elderly man to the pharmacy after his visit in the ER. I chatted with him on the long walk and entertained his speculations and commentary with encouraging words and noises. I stayed with him a bit longer than was necessary, but knew that he would be going home to an empty apartment… and would soon be back for another [uncertain] visit at the hospital.

One thought on “Day 1: A-OK

Leave a comment